OCSB static banner top
Text Size: A A A
Photo of Tyler Olinik with Canadian Caring AwardOn April 1, St. Matthew High School Grade 8 student Tyler Olinik was one of 20 young people from across Canada to be recognized by Governor General David Johnston for his charitable work in the community. Tyler has organized penny drives, canned food drives, barbecues and hockey games to raise funds for Free the Children’s Adopt a Village program. He was awarded the Caring Canadian Award at the Me to We event at the Canadian Tire Centre.

Congratulations to Tyler on the work he is doing to create a positive change in the global community!
He is a truly inspiring young man!
Photo of All Saints robotics teamFrom April 22 to 25, All Saints High School’s ASTECHZ robotics team (Team 2994) will be competing in this year’s FIRST Robotics World Championships in St. Louis, Missouri. It’s the first time time in the team’s eight-year history they’ve been invited to the prestigious event. They’ll be representing All Saints, the Ottawa Catholic School Board, and the City of Ottawa on the world stage!

The goal of the competition is to inspire high school students to take an interest in science and technology. Student teams design and build robots based on the even specifications, which are outlined at the beginning of the season. Students are then given six weeks to complete their robots.
Photo of handmade thank you cardsOn April 11, the Ottawa Student Transportation Authority (OSTA) hosted its first ever Driver Appreciation Day! They called on students from all over the city to make thank you cards for display at the event, and they did not disappoint. The countless cards had beautiful art and heartfelt messages of gratitude for the many school bus drivers. It was a truly touching event! 

Over 200 school bus drivers were at the event for guest speeches from members of OSTA’s Board of Directors and representatives from their partner school boards. There were also door prizes, refreshments, and a slideshow. OSTA hopes to make this special event an annual tradition to support our school bus drivers.

Read more: OSTA hosts its first ever Drive Appreciation Day
ocsb calendar button
ocsb newschool2 button
OCSB Notices button
ocsb osta2 button
ocsb locator button
OCSB Community Use button
ocsb conted button